Skip to content

So many recipes, so little time

June 24, 2010

I’ve made so many tasty thing the past couple weeks, but a few things have prevented the sharing of said yummy things. A) Big guy signed up for an SLR camera class at the local community college and wanted his fancy cam back. B) Summer session for grad school started therefore loads of reading and analyzing. C) I’m easily distracted. D) Actually, that’s it. Let me list the goodies I’ve made and inspire you to do the same…

Sloppy Janes (Jane is Vegan and from Portland, Joe is from Texas, or Wisconsin, both states like their meat)…

Vegan Lemon Curd- when my mom and I would go to tea at Abbey Gardens (RIP) I would eat the lemon curd with a spoon.

Martha Stewarts 1-2-3-4 cake (which included said vegan lemon curd)- essentially I used her structure, yellow cake, lemon curd, vanilla buttercream-y icing, and berries, then veganized it all.

Pad Thai- Jay’s favorite. I made it twice in the past two weeks because the first time I forgot which recipe he liked better. That wasn’t it.

Lemon Blueberry Muffins- I adapted recipes from the Babycakes cookbook. Grated lemon zest on top before I stuck them in the oven even! I felt like a pastry chef. Sigh.

Also made some boring foods that I clearly can’t remember. Yesterday I went to MOM’s and found a chocolate/peanut butter gluten free vegan cereal! I was so excited I think I giggled out loud. In the middle of the cereal aisle. I loved Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs. Now I can enjoy them again. Best part? The name: Leapin’ Lemurs! Other amazing gf/v find of the week: Ener-g English Muffins. The consistency is a bit like biscuits and taste delicious. Ate toasted with pb&j, and with Sloppy Janes. Also found out they make burger buns– to go with the Sunshine Burgers!! **side note: In the latest novel by Libba Bray, Going Bovine, the main character has a brief stint working for Buddha Burgers. While having a conversation with my mum while reading the book she mentions, “oh I found vegan burgers, they’re called Buddha Burgers, you know, like the Buddha?” “No kidding?” I say, “That’s really funny because in this book I’m reading, the dude works at Buddha Burger.” (I really said dude. Yes I’m older than 18) So then I looked up Buddha Burgers, to see if I can find them anywhere, and apparently there are two burger joints in Tel Aviv called Buddha Burger. Who knew?!

While I was making the Sloppy Janes, the mother-in-law called to ask what I was up to.

“Oh, just making dinner.”

“What are you making?”

“Sloppy Joes.”

Silence…

then I remember, she probably doesn’t know what that is!

“Well, people who eat meat make them with hamburger. They cook it, then mix it with tomato sauce and spices and eat it on buns. Oh– kind of like Pav Bhaji!!”

“Ooh, I see. Pav Bhaji?”

“Yeah kind of like that, except not as many vegetables, and no Indian spices. So I guess not really like it at all. Same consistency and you eat it on a bun.”

I’m the best at describing food. I think she got it once I realized I could actually relate it to something she eats. Funny though, when you think about it, that I found a similarity between an all-American dish and an Indian dish.

Pav Bhaji is really tasty and does actually have a similar feel to Sloppy Joes/Janes. It’s easy to make too and the seasoning packets can be found at any Indian market. Probably at the “regular” grocery store too, or natural foods store. Check out the Rasoi Magic recipe/packets for Pav Bhaji.

This weekend is the American Library Association Annual Conference. I’m going. It’s my first time going to a convention like this. I’m super excited but nervous at the same time. It will most definitely be insane. Crowded. CRAZY. But fun. Speaking of Libba Bray– she was the 2010 winner of the YALSA Michael L Printz award for Going Bovine. I decided I am going to the program/reception where she’ll be speaking along with the honor book authors. Sadly I haven’t read anything by the other authors. I don’t have much time as of late except for listening to books. After I finished Going Bovine, I read Sue Monk Kidd and Ann Kidd Taylor’s travel memoir Traveling with Pomegranates. I wasn’t sure what I would think of the book, but ended up loving it. I think I called, texted or emailed my mum everyday to tell her to read it. Interesting look into their mother/daughter relationship and their search for spirituality and themselves. Now I’m listening to Michael Scott’s The Necromancer. Book 4 of 6 of the Nicholas Flamel series. I had been anxiously and impatiently awaiting the audiobook to be processed in the library. Finally it arrived and I started listening today. Already so good. I am in the process of reading The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan on my Nook, but that’s slow going. I spend more time in my car, which is why I can go through 3-4 books a month by listening. Sad I know. Jay says I’m a cheating librarian for listening to books. I beg to differ.

Hey, wait. This isn’t a book blog! This is a cooking blog!

So this weekend I may try to post something about the vegan/gluten free food I find in DC. Before I was gluten free I knew where I could find good vegan food, but the gluten free factor just makes it a whole new game of hide and seek. Or a treasure hunt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 11:23 am

    Oh fun! Nick and I are out of town this weekend, if I had known you were coming I would have offered our place to you! We’re right next to the capitol, it’s pretty sweet.

    I wish I could help you find good vegan things, but now that I’m a carnivore… I don’t tend to seek out vegan restaurants. I do like Java Green, which is NW – but I’m not sire where ALA will be.

    This link might be able to help you out more than I can though 🙂 http://www.vegdc.com/

Leave a Reply

