Skip to content

Vegan Hypocrite Smoothie

March 14, 2010

Yes, that’s right, the “Vegan Hypocrite Smoothie.” Why? Well, I’m seeing a new doctor who firmly believes in the health benefits of fish oil. Her article on the many health benefits of Omega-3 fatty acids is actually very interesting and I highly suggest you read it, although it is definitely geared towards the medical profession. When I wasn’t vegetarian I despised fish. Actually, I only despised eating it, fish are cute. So the thought of taking fish oil really grosses me out, not to mention goes against my beliefs. In the end though, I didn’t stick up for myself and agreed to start taking it. But now that I am I’m regretting it. First of all, I’m being a hypocrite. Second, have you ever tried to take fish oil? The actual oil? BLECK!!! First day I downed 1/2 tbsp. Second day I mixed it with apple sauce. Today I made a smoothie. Here’s the recipe:

Vegan Hypocrite Smoothie

1 cup soymilk (I used Light Silk)

1 cup frozen mixed berries

a handful of almonds

3/4 banana (give the other fourth to your favorite pet rats)

1 tbsp. fish oil

Put all the ingredients in a blender. Blend it up. Drink it down.

Ok, now here’s a non-hypocritical smoothie:

Omega Power Smoothie

1 cup soy milk

1 cup frozen mixed berries

3/4 banana (again, the rats will love you forever)

handful of walnuts (high in omega-3!)

1 tbsp. Barleans Total Omega Vegan Swirl (for more info about the oil blend: fancy pdf brochure)

Put it all in a blender. Blend it up. Drink it down and feel good no fishies were harmed in supplying your body with Omega goodness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michele permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:29 pm

    Jorge Cruise swears by the omega swirl stuff. I am not so sure…I tried doing fish oil for a while and icky is an understandment. My chiropractor suggested it.

Leave a Reply

